Sausalito Woman’s Club Scholarship Recognition Fund Awards $59,500 to Local Students


Sausalito, Ca. – June 5, 2013 – The Sausalito Woman’s Club presented a record $59,500 in educational scholarships to 37 students from Sausalito and Marin City on Sunday, June 2. The scholarships were awarded at a special ceremony and reception held at the Sausalito Woman’s Club to honor the students.

 This year’s scholarship recipients included ten 2013 high school graduates – Gian-Paul Bergeron, Megan Bordes, Raymond Ching, Early Cobb III, Mohammed Manneh, Jessica Rasmussen, Madeleine Sandrolini, Andre Shavers, Nicole Vandenberg and Yodai Yusanaga; and twenty-seven college students – Mariah Ashby, Steve Ashby-Anderson, Emma Barge, Laura Canas, Nancy Donovan, Xinhua Eynon, June Farmer, Annie Greene, Ja’Van Hall, Malachia Hoover, Stephanie Lee, Rondall Leggett, Jessie Leider, Sarah Leider, Huy Lu, Shirley Lui, Lucy Lyford, Silvana Meira, Derneshia Morgan, Ramona Polk, Jason Rasmussen, Jasmine Roary, Alexander Rockwood, Myan Tran, Briggs Vallandigham, DeMarqus Wiggins and Breanna Williams.

SWCSRF Chair Jean Patterson praised the students for their accomplishments and bright futures. Guest speaker was Rondell Gibson of Marin City – a former SWC scholar, graduate of St. Mary’s College and now a College Advisor at 10,000 Degrees helping others get a college education. His speech embodied the importance of “Paying it Forward”, stressing service to others and reminding everyone that, “We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give.”

The Scholarship program is supported solely through community fundraising and individual donations to the Sausalito Woman’s Club Scholarship Recognition Fund. Special commemorative and memorial gifts also contribute to the fund. This year, six scholarships named for individuals and organizations that have been a special part of the SWCSRF were awarded to the following students:

Huy Lu – The Nancy Debruyn/Shannon Bell Memorial Scholarship

Lucy Lyford – The Elaine B. Squires Memorial Scholarship

Silvana Meira – The Sausalito Woman’s Club Memorial Scholarship

Jason Rasmussen – The Phil Frank Memorial Scholarship

Madeline Sandrolini – The Elizabeth Luddington McBride Scholarship for Women in Visual Arts

Andre Shavers – The Sausalito Presbyterian Church Scholarship

When awarding scholarships, SWCSRF Boardmembers consider both need and an applicants’ achievements in academic work, on the playing field, in the school community and in activities outside the school environment.

The SWC Scholarship Recognition Fund, which provides financial support, encouragement and acknowledgement to deserving students seeking higher education, has awarded more than $760,000 in scholarships since its founding in 1956. All recipients of SWCSRF scholarships must be residents of either Sausalito or Marin City and planning to attend an accredited college, graduate school or vocational or arts institution. The SWCSRF, a 501(c) 3 non-profit organization, is governed by a 12-member Board of Directors made up of SWC members.

Sausalito Woman’s Club Scholarship recipients 2013-2014. Front, L to R: Jessie Lieder, Jason Rasmussen, Annie Greene, Jessica Rasmussen, Megan Bordes, Myan Tran; Second, L to R: Sarah Lieder, Gian-Paul Bergeron, Raymond Ching, Emma Barges, Silvana Meira, Lucy Lyford, Nancy Donovan; Back, L to R: Rondall Leggett, Mohammed Manneh, Early Cobb III, Yodai Yusanaga, Nicole Vandenberg. (Not pictured: Mariah Ashby, Steven Ashby-Anderson, Laura Canas, Xinhua Eynon, June Farmer, Ja’Van Hall, Malachia Hoover, Stephanie Lee, Huy Lu, Derneshia Morgan, Ramona Polk, Jasmine Roary, Alexander Rockwood, Madeleine Sandrolini, Andre Shavers, Briggs Vallandigham, DeMarqus Wiggins, Breanna Williams.) (photo by Jean Schurtz)

Former SWC scholar Rondell Gibson addresses Sausalito Woman’s Club 2013-14 Scholarship recipients (photo by Jean Schurtz)




The Scholarship Recognition Fund was established in 1956 by members of the SWC for the purpose of providing scholarships to Sausalito/Marin City students. In 2012, the SWCSRF granted $52,000 to 29 scholars…bringing our total gift to the community to over $700,000. This past year, scholarships were awarded in the names of Nancy DeBruyn/Shannon Bell, Phil Frank, Elaine B. Squires and The Sausalito Presbyterian Church. Also awarded was the SWC Memorial Scholarship in honor of SWC members who made donations to celebrate people or events or to remember friends and loved ones.

The Scholarship Recognition Fund is a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation, which allows donations to be fully tax deductible. (Federal I.D. No. 68-0239954).  In addition to receiving funding from SWC dues, the SWCSRF receives donations to its Fund through fundraising, as well as commemorative and memorial gifts.

Scholarship recipients must be permanent residents of the Sausalito-Marin City School District and be current or returning students planning on attending an accredited college, vocational, technical or graduate school or an arts institution.

Donations, including living legacy options, and requests for information regarding scholarships should be directed to the SWC Scholarship Recognition Fund, P.O. Box 3045, Sausalito, CA 94966 or

Contact Number: 415-332-2700 ext.3

Print Friendly